Tags

, , ,

I don’t know if it was the pot of French-Press I drank after lunch, or the sudden realization that there was nothing on the immediate horizon in terms of dinner. I suppose it could have been subliminal, brought on by last night’s bedtime reading of the gorgeous cookbook, “Harvest to Heat”, with pictures that jumped off of the page and right into my mouth.  For whatever reason, I was inspired to get up cook!  I mean, really cook…invent something, fire-up-the-oven, lots of pots, pans, and utensils sort of cooking.

And while mindlessly trolling around my face-book feed (blame that darn pot of French-Press again), I was made aware that today is—get ready for it—NATIONAL ZUCCHINI DAY!!  Who knew?!

So, since I really didn’t have any concrete dinner plans, and I really didn’t want to go to the store, I went out to the garden instead.  Not that the garden wouldn’t have been a better option under any circumstances, but the hungry husband was going to be home soon, and I knew a decent meal was on his ‘to-do’ list.

One pass through the garden for some zucchini and salad ingredients, a re-con mission in the fridge, and the results are my humble offering on the altar of summer-squash.

072

Serve it with a salad (or soup if the weather warrants) and you have a pretty great meal!  Plus, having it with salad will keep you from eating an entire loaf and calling it dinner…not that I’ve ever done that.

How are you celebrating National Zucchini Day?  Leaving gargantuan zukes on your neighbors porch doesn’t count…

Mangiamo!  And thanks so much for stopping by!
Lorrie

 077

Savory Zucchini Cheese Bread

2 cups grated zucchini (you can use the behemoth ones here, but I think the smaller ones have more flavor)
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ Tblsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
¼  tsp fresh ground pepper
½ tsp dried basil
¼ tsp dried thyme
¼ tsp dried oregano  (you can substitute 1 tsp Italian seasoning here if you’d like)
1 large clove of garlic, minced
¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
4 eggs, beaten
½ cup milk
½ cup plain yoghourt (or cottage cheese if you prefer a bit less tang; ricotta would probably work well too, though I haven’t tried it)
½ cup shredded cheese (normally I would use jack or mozzarella, but all I had was some white English cheddar, so cheddar it was)
½ cup grated parmesan

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Grease (or line with parchment paper) 2 9″x 5″ loaf pans.

Mix all the ingredients thoroughly in one large bowl, and divide between the loaf pans.  Bake for 45-50 minutes.  It’s done when the tops are a beautiful, green-flecked golden brown, and your kitchen smells heavenly.

