Tags

, , , , , ,

“Now, here, you see, it takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that!”
~
The Red Queen; Alice in Wonderland~

Unless I am tied into an apron and preparing food for family and friends, I am NOT the woman who delights in multi-tasking.  (Truth be told, I think that it is the bane of modern-day existence).  I find no glory in rushing to accomplish a herculean list of “to-do’s” only to collapse in a heap at the end of a frenetic day.

Yet for some reason, that’s exactly where I found myself this morning—juggling the needs of home, hearth, garden, family and work, forgetting to breathe and feeling like my life was some giant smoothie in a cosmic blender!  Along with that, was an OVERWHELMING need to create something.  I’ve been mulling over an idea for a pasta dish using my favorite Sun-gold cherry tomatoes (sweet little morsels of tomato-y goodness) and Artisanal’s crisp and summery Pinot Blanc  for the longest time, and I really wanted to get started on it today!

035

After a particularly strong cappuccino, I had the “well duuhhh, stupid” moment I’d been procrastinating my way around all morning.

Since, despite appearances, I really am actually pretty skilled at prioritizing and setting goals (so easy to forget with the languor of summertime and it’s constantly beckoning ‘come hither’ voice) probably making a list and prioritizing it might be a better option for me than the chaos that had begun in my mind and soul.

So, the list was made, items ordered by importance, distractions minimized, and three hours later…Voila!
I am ready to put that apron on!  Even managed to get a run in too.

Wish me luck, my friends!  Hopefully I’ll have a new recipe for you to try soon, because I know you all have tons of tomatoes too!

Oh, and since I’m quoting queens, and the blackberry jam that I want to make did not make the list…  

The rule is, jam tomorrow  and jam yesterday — but never jam to-day.
The White Queen ~ Alice in Wonderland

Enjoy the day, whatever you do!
Lorrie


