Tags

, , ,

I haven’t forgotten, nor have I been lax in the brownie-baking department.  Here today is what may be the winner in my personal competition, from Kristin Rosenau’s beautiful blog “A Pastry Affair”, which in a stroke of chocolate serendipity,  appeared in my in-box the day after I did my first brownie challenge post.  Brownie Kismet!  I’ve made it several times now–just to be sure–and they haven’t let me down yet!  I still have a couple more recipes to try out before I’m done, but something tells me that this one will emerge with the crown!  I’ve included her original metric measurements (which I used the first time I made these) for those who may want them.
Just to be sure.

040

More brownies to come, but thanks so much for stopping by today for this one!

Lorrie

012

013

 

Double Chocolate Brownies
lightly adapted from www.pastryaffair.com

Yields 16 servings (not in my house…)

4 tablespoons (56 grams) butter
4 ounces (110 grams) dark or semi-sweet chocolate, chopped (I used dark, as I prefer more chocolate, less sweet)
2 large eggs
3/4 cup (150 grams) brown sugar, packed
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup (125 grams) all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (85 grams) dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips (again, dark–72%)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Grease a 9×9-inch pan (I didn’t have one, so I used a 7x11glass baker instead.  I like to line my brownie pan with a piece of greased parchment—ends hanging off the long edge of the pan, for ease in removing and cutting.

In a large saucepan (or glass bowl, if you’re using a microwave oven), melt the butter and chopped chocolate over low heat until smooth.  Remove from heat.  Stir in the eggs, sugars, and vanilla extract.  Fold in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Let the batter cool to down a bit before adding the chocolate chips, as you don’t want them melting into the batter.

Transfer batter to the prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean with a few crumbs. Cool before slicing into squares for the cleanest cuts. (Or if you totally can’t wait, use a plastic knife)

Make sure to invite someone over, or you will eat the entire pan yourself.

 

 

 

